Some farmer’s field – North cape – Cape Egmont – Hopewell rocks

Since I did not want to wait until the farmer came and work his fields I got up pretty early. It was 7.30 when I awoke and by 8 o’clock I was ready to ride. I thought nobody would notice me but as soon as I left the little dirt road that led back to the main road there was an old man walking. I got a bit of a strange look from him but I ignored him. I drove to the next town that had a grocery store. I was hoping to find some granola bars but they had nothing. I felt like I had to buy something so I ended up with a kitkat for breakfast. Since that is not enough I stopped at the local bakery to get a cinnamon roll. Not exactly the most healthy of breakfasts but all I need is sugar to satisfy my sweeth tooth and to give me the energy boost I need in the morning. I started riding towards North cape, the northernmost point of the island. Upon arriving you are greeted with big windmills.

It is also the place of canada’s windmill research institute. There is an interpritive centre but they charge admission. For what?? They get their electricity for free! So no, I did not visit it. I strolled around for a bit and then continued the road to west point which is…you got it, the most western point on the island. They had a little lighthouse there which they converted to a bed and breakfast / motel place.

I continued riding and the road of course heads east again. I stopped at cape egmont which has another lighthouse.

At certain points on the road you can see the confederation bridge that connects the island to New Brunswick.

I had some lunch at Summerside before returning to New Brunswick. This time the ride over the confederation bridge was smooth without gusty winds.

The weather was still pretty decent and I made way to Moncton where I stocked up on supplies. Since there was still plenty of daylight available I continued riding towards Fundi National park. I did not make it to the park however. On the way there is a scenic spot called Hopewell rocks. The park was closed but I was glad it was. It seemed like a very touristy place. But you could still enter the park eventhough it was closed. They charge an entrance fee but since it is closed nobody can collect your money. The park’s main attraction are rocks on the shoreline that have been carved or sculpted by the tide.

Fundi bay has the highest tides in the world. The tide bridges 16 meters on certain days!! When it is low tide you can walk on the seabed to admire the rocks. It had just passed high tide so the water was pulling away again. I can not deny or confirm that I went and walked on the seabed…:/
It was now starting to get dark so I needed a place to set up my tent. As I rode back to the main road I saw a little dirt road next to some ad signs. Too easy…I followed it and came to a nice secluded area. I was certainly not the first one to discover this. There was a nice fire pit made by previous campers.

Leave a comment