Macedonia – Krushevo and surroundings

There was a decent map at the hostel that made it clear that the road suggested by my gps to Krushevo would be the main highway. Not something I was looking for. With the help of the map I could plot an alternative and enter this in my gps. Sweet. After saying goodbye to the hostel it was back on the road for me, this time with fresh oil, not that this impacts performance or anything.

Luckily my gps did take me over the old highway for the most part.

DSCF7563.jpg

It was very hot and this severely impacts my cornering ability with my tires. I can’t say I’m very impressed with my tires. I lost all credibility in them on several previous occasions and today was again one of them. The back tire becomes a sponge, wobbling me like crazy…not a comfortable feeling on a bike.

Anyhow, on with the story. The alternate route worked its magic and soon I was riding a dirt track over a mountain.

DSCF7564.jpg

DSCF7565.jpg

After the mountain came the plains. There were several small towns scattered throughout.

DSCF7568.jpg

I was closing in on Krushevo…what’s so special about this place you might ask yourself. Well, they have a cool monument I wanted to visit. Enough to warrant a visit? Maybe not for everyone but good enough for me. At last, I had arrived at my destination…lo and behold I present you the monument.

DSCF7596.jpg

DSCF7576.jpg

DSCF7573.jpg

DSCF7572.jpg

Now you can also go inside and that was of course my plan were it not that they charged an entrance fee and I was out of cash. No biggy I told myself. Grab some fresh cash in town and while I am at it eat something and come back. Came back I did only to find the place closed. (there were no opening hours when I first visited). Ah well, the door had a little opening so I took a picture.

DSCF7587.jpg

There are a few colored glass windows that would look pretty sweet from the inside on a sunny day.

DSCF7580.jpg

Can’t have it all can we.
Now that it was closed there was a horse mowing the grass.

DSCF7593.jpg

DSCF7598.jpg

Now, this memorial was not for the first or second world war but in 1903 there was a short lived Kruševo Republic. This monument recognizes this point in time. Krushevo is also the highest town in Macedonia.

Alright then, now that I have the history info out of the way. The road now took me close to the highest point and then down some small track to the bottom.

DSCF7600.jpg

DSCF7603.jpg

My gps was pretty accurate and then I did something I would never dream possible. I blindly followed the gps like you hear people do and end up in a river… Uhm, thats basically what happened to me. There was water flowing down the track I was following. A little at first, but soon it was more and more. So much that it was easier to ride in the little stream than on what was left of the track. The stream had created a little gully and I became trapped inside. This was becoming a bit sketchy. I decided to ‘park’ the bike and go exploring a bit on foot.

WP_20130703_005.jpg

It didn’t look very promising. I decided to turn back. To this day I still don’t know how I managed to turn my bike around but somehow I did.

Next challenge was a little terrace that the stream had formed.

WP_20130703_006.jpg

I rearranged a few rocks and after a few tries managed to clear the obstacle.

WP_20130703_007.jpg

Did I have to return the whole way? Luckily not, there was a turnoff a bit further which was basically an easy detour for the stream. Great, I could continue. Now it was about time to start looking for a place to sleep. Since I had been sweating like a pig the whole day and down at my stream excursion a hotel with a shower would be splendid.

Some road blocks that I have to look out for occasionally.
WP_20130703_008.jpg

First town I arrive at and my gps lists 2 hotels. First one…in ruins. Second one, does not even have a lobby and looks like an office building. I continue, there is one out of town. Ok, I arrive, hotel completely destroyed. Seriously, every single hotel is in ruins. Next town then…yay, hotel is open, but it’s pricey for what I have been used to. They don’t have a room with airco and they say I should try the next hotel (I didn’t request airco, I am not that kind of snob)

This was of course a good excuse for me to check the next hotel. Upon arrival they charge the same price. Yup I will take it. With airco 🙂

Leave a comment