Onwards to Belgrade passing Kosmaj

The motel was being inspected in the morning by young lady and her parents. I had the impression that they were inspecting the venue to hold her wedding. Not exactly the exotic location she had dreamed of I suppose. Sure the place could cater for 100+ people, but they would be surrounded by trucks at the petrol station and busy traffic at the roundabout.

I also met the two Italian bikers who were unlocking their BMW’s and had a short chat before moving onward. I have had a lot of paved road the last couple of days and finally I got to some gravel/dirt roads again as I was nearing my next target…Kosmaj.

DSCF7957.jpg

DSCF7958.jpg

DSCF7966.jpg

DSCF7969.jpg

DSCF7973.jpg

I was now pretty close to Belgrade, the capital of Serbia. Might as well drop by. The mechanics at Nis had told me multiple times to double check that all nuts and bolts were still tight after riding a bit with my new (motorbike) parts. So in Belgrade I would have this double checked. I arrived fairly early in the city and secured myself a place in a youth hostel in an 8 bed dorm room. The hostel looked pretty empty, but it was still early, so other people surely will arrive. At first I wanted to get my bike checked but I could not find the dealer whose address I had, so I had to give up and find another dealer online upon returning to the hostel. After this I went strolling through Belgrade. It’s not extremely rich on monuments and sights, at least that is the impression I got. It is also a pain in the ass to drive around in with its many one way streets. But they have a nice fortress overlooking the Sava river that splits the old and the new city.(I only visited the old part)

DSCF7977.jpg

DSCF7978.jpg

DSCF7984.jpg

DSCF7988.jpg

DSCF7989.jpg

DSCF7991.jpg

DSCF7992.jpg

DSCF7993.jpg

DSCF7997.jpg

DSCF8001.jpg

DSCF8005.jpg

But yeah, I should probably come back on a city trip sometime as I really only had a teaser of the place.
I returned to the hostel hoping to find some people to join me for some drinks but the hostel was still almost empty. I was still alone in my 8 bed room, which is nice to get some sleep but sucks for socializing. I went exploring on my own but the street I had chosen that was supposed to be one of the nightlife streets was not really happening tonight. I must have picked the wrong one (apparently there is one that’s even busy on weekdays but I obviously didn’t go to that one)
So that was Belgrade for me in half a day. Not enough but better than nothing.

Leave a comment