Towards Crimea

The next destination would be Crimea, thats how they call the peninsula that is sticking out in the black sea. It was actually quite a long and boring ride for the most part because you just have to traverse plains. Kind of reminded me of crossing the plains in Canada.
At one point I did pass an airfield and it had become a final resting point for a whole bunch of helicopters, both civilian and military.

DSCF8367.jpg

DSCF8368.jpg

I finally reach the peninsula and start heading west. My gps indicated that I was about to hit a stretch of off-road terrain so before hitting that I decide to fill up with petrol in the last town before the dirt road. The road goes uphill a bit and reaches a crest and of course my speed is a little too high and and the bottom two policemen are pointing their speed gun at me. I let off the throttle but of course the damage had already been done, I had to pull over.
It was a fairly young officer and he looked at my license plate and quickly found out that Russian would not be understandable to me.
‘Speed, too high’. ‘da, da’, i replied in my best Russian. I started grabbing my international license and handed it over to his colleague, an older policeman. ‘Stay Ukraine?’ was the next question thrown at me. I told them I was a tourist.
The older policeman kept looking at my license and he must have been thinking about all the paperwork that had to be done. He looked at me, pointed at my bike and waved his hand, signalling that I should just continue. I could sense that the young officer was flabbergasted by this gesture. He kind of looked shocked, as I was clearly speeding and I would get away with it. Well, I didn’t need a translation to get that message, so I just quickly put on my helmet amd took of for the nearest petrol station. I did say thank you a few times 🙂
After filling up I also grabbed a bite to eat since I already had my mind set on wild camping for the night.
The dirt road took me along the north western coastline of the peninsula.

DSCF8375.jpg

There were little inlets everywhere and people were camping wherever they could put their tent. Some spots were busier than other.
I just found a place where I could be by myself so I would not be disturbed nor disturb anyone else.

DSCF8378.jpg

DSCF8379.jpg

DSCF8380.jpg

DSCF8384.jpg

Clearly the place I had chosen had been chosen before as some nice folks simply left all of their garbage there.

DSCF8390.jpg

I have traveled to many places in the world and it is always the same thing. Stupid idiots leaving their garbage everywhere, this makes me so angry. I never leave anything behind, i take my rubbish, put it in a bag and throw it in a trashcan. And I am on a motorbike, it is not like i have loads of room to store garbage, but I do it. Nope, there are still people who think that garbage gets collected in the remote wilderness simply by putting it in a garbage bag.
Seriously, it is hard for me to list the scenic spots I have traveled to in this world without encountering someone’s rubbish. It will only get worse I am afraid. Sigh.

DSCF8402.jpg

Leave a comment